Perdition's Child by Anne Coates | Book Tour Review

Perdition's Child is the fourth book in the Hannah Weybridge thriller series and with not having read the first three I was still invested in this book and thoroughly enjoyed reading it as a stand-alone.
Perdition's Child by Anne Coates | Book Tour Review
Dulwich Library is the scene of a grisly murder, followed swiftly by another in Manchester, the victims linked by nothing other than their Australian nationality. Police dismiss the idea of a serial killer, but journalist Hannah Weybridge isn't convinced.

She is drawn into an investigation in which more Australian men are killed as they try to trace their British families. Her research reveals past horrors and present sadness, and loss linked to children who went missing after the Second World War. Have those children returned now?

Once again Hannah finds herself embroiled in a deadly mystery, a mystery complicated by the murder of Harry Peters; the brother of Lucy, one of the residents of Cardboard City she had become friendly with. It soon becomes clear Lucy is protecting secrets of her own.

What is Lucy's link to the murders and can Hannah discover the truth before the killer strikes again?
Perdition's Child by Anne Coates | Book Tour Review
My Thoughts
Having not read the other books in the series, this story flows well and doesn't leave you hanging out of the loop with any hints or links to the previous stories which I quite liked.

There are quite a lot of characters which get introduced to you in this book, but as the story evolves you can easily learn who is who as the investigations develop. Hannah Weybridge is the main character in the book, she is a journalist and I really liked her role and presence in the book, alongside her relationship with Janet which I was fond of.

The storyline follows individual cases of Australians who are murdered and it becomes apparent to Hannah that these aren't just normal murder cases in the UK, they must be all linked in some way. We witness Hannah travelling and meeting up with several companions in order to solve the investigations and get to the bottom of what really happened. But, what Hannah soon finds out is that there have been a lot of cover-ups behind the disappearances of these men and deeper stories that then unearth! As she meets up with these individuals she recalls the last events to them allowing you to easily follow what is going on in the book. 

As the book progressed I was lost as to what the outcome would end up being, I had no clue how they were going to solve the investigation, let alone who the culprit would be or who would be next in line to be a victim of murder! This made the book even more fascinating, being a reader and not knowing what was going to happen next makes it a great read, as well as the way it was cleverly written. It makes me want to go back and read the rest of the books in the series!

Meet The Author
For most of her working life in publishing, Anne Coates has had a foot in both camps as a writer and an editor, moving from book publishing to magazines and then freelancing in both. Having edited both fiction and narrative non-fiction, she has also had short stories published in a variety of magazines including Bella and Candis and is the author of seven non-fiction books. Telling stories is Anne's first love and nearly all her short fiction as well as Dancers in The Wind and Death's Silent Judgement began with a real event followed by a 'what if...'. That is also the case with the two prize-winning stores: Codewords and Eternal Love.

Anne Coates

Follow The Blog Tour
There are a couple more days left on this blog tour so be sure to check back on Twitter to find everyone else's thoughts on this book!
Perdition's Child by Anne Coates | Book Tour Review
So, what are your thoughts on Perdition's Child? This book was published in February, earlier this year, and is available from Amazon. Will you be going to pick this up now that you've read my thoughts on it? Thanks for reading,

Charlotte x
Bloglovin / Twitter GoodReads

Disclosure (This book was sent to me on behalf of the book tour, however, all opinions and views are my own.)